A start of the working week round-up:

Fat-tongued saviour of school meals and celebrity chef Jamie Oliver (I’m not a fan) has bitten the hand that has fed him very well over the years.

In an interview with Paris Match, the cook has lambasted the UK’s booze culture and inability to recognise good cuisine.

“England is one of the richest countries in the world,” he says. “The people I’m talking about have enormous televisions – a lot bigger than my own – the latest in mobile phones, cars and they go and get drunk in pubs at the weekend. Their poverty shows in the way they feed themselves.”

I’m guessing sales of his books and merchandise have dipped.

Andrew Cowen has written a stirring lament for the summers of our collective memory (almost) over on The Birmingham Post’s blogs.

Our own little backyard wildlife haven and fruit tree oasis has given us a smidgen of pleasure this summer.

(Our gnome, by Rachel).

But it has tended to be obscured by the racket issuing forth from the pub just down the road – either all the smokers standing outside at all hours having some of the loudest and most inane conversations I’ve heard; or some poor misguided soul murdering Robbie Williams, Gloria Gaynor or Neil Diamond on the karaoke.

An interesting piece in The Guardian about censorship. A new exhibition shows that whilst the McCarthy witch-hunts were in full swing in the US, British censors were getting all hot and bothered about homosexuality.

Real men do wear pink, apparently.

I had enough problems dealing with the new Cardiff Blues (its a rugby union thing) strip for the forthcoming season – I guess I’m a bit of a traditionalist when it comes to my favourite sport and favourite side.

Then on rugbystore.co.uk I found the new Cardiff Blues away strip. Its pink.

The site says the shirt’s colour is actually fuchsia – and my wife agrees – but I know pink when I see it. And I don’t like it when it is being worn by the side I support.

I’m such a conservative, but I don’t care.

2 responses »

  1. Ursula says:

    Paul, I think it might be a good idea for Rachel to get out a cold compress and put it on your forehead.

    As Tuesdays go, yours could be a Monday morning. However I do agree that there is very little between fuchsia and pink. Except that fuchsia is pinker than pink.

    Should I even be talking to people who entertain gnomes in their garden? Since yours is not a fright and as he has the pleasure of enjoying the vista of fruit laden trees (talk about tree envy on my part) I shall make the Groves household the exception to my rule.

    U

    PS Just to make your day: I have a very good Jamie Oliver recipe for beef stew (Jool’s favourite); will send via email.

  2. Paul Groves says:

    U: He’s an ironic gnome and was a gift from our neighbours.

Leave a Reply

