So preparations are well under way for my assault on the C2C Challenge on July 11 and 12.

I continue to be amazed and delighted with the generous response to my question about whether people would be willing to donate me 10 minutes of their time, rather than £10, if I manage to complete the 140 miles in two days.

I don’t necessarily want people to commit too much of their time until we get closer to the challenge itself – plus, I obviously need to make sure I keep my end of the deal and complete it.

seatosea-cropped2

But if you have a few spare minutes at the moment and next week (May 12 to be precise) there are a couple of things I would recommend are worth reading.

The first is a bog post by my wife, Rachel, who has inspired me to take on the C2C Challenge.

She is a never-ending source of inspiration, as this post for Blogging Against Disablism Day 2009 on invisible disability proves. 

The second slot of your time will happen on Tuesday, May 12 – ME/CFS International Awareness Day 2009.

Rachel has put together this blog of information and to collect as many of the posts written for ME/CFS Awareness Day as possible. The day itself appears to be going from strength to strength and the posts written in 2008 (including my own) certainly gathered a big response.

If you can spare a few minutes on the 12th it would be great if you could check out the blog and follow some of the links to what people all over the world are writing about.

ribbon_orangeback_large_sq1

Putting together such a site requires a fair bit of effort and I know come May 12 itself Rachel will be feeling quite exhausted – mentally and physically. But the effort she puts in to such things is also inspiring to me.

The primary aim of my cycle challenge is to raise awareness about the illness that has caused so much upheaval to Rachel and us over the last three years.

I also want to try and raise awareness about the daily struggles faced by millions of carers in this country – a role I never envisaged having to take up myself, but which I’ve juggled with my career since Rachel first fell ill.

To do that I need your time, which I know is such a valuable resource.

But I promise it will be time well spent.

3 responses »

  1. Sean Fleming says:

    No problem! Happy to help. Good luck.

  2. Consider it done – ten minutes of time definitely; £10, if I’ve been paid!
    Good luck with the challenge.

  3. [...] ME/CFS Awareness. Please support his honourable cause if you can. You can find information on his blog, or by joining Facebook group Minutes Not [...]

Leave a Reply

