Another week, another national event to support.

This time it is National Bike Week, a celebration of all things two wheels.

It is a week to inspire those who have forgotten what fun they used to have on a bike.

And having spent a lot of time sitting on my bike over the last few months I can honestly say the fun factor is still high.

bike

My training programme for the C2C Challenge continues apace and I’m currently tackling a few local routes with some tricky little climbs – all good preparation for my attempt to ride from Whitehaven to Sunderland (140 miles) in two days.

I’m embarking on the challenge to encourage people to donate 10 minutes of their time, rather than £10 of their money and so help me raise awareness of two issues that have become very important to me – ME/CFS; and the role of carers in the UK.

The key to all this is fun. I enjoy being out on my bike and I’m enjoying the training.

I’m excited about taking on the C2C Challenge and by the generosity of all those who have so far pledged their support.

Thanks to the efforts of so many organisations, such as the CTC and Sustrans, as well as countless smaller regional clubs and associations, Bike Week is now a massive national event.

More importantly, there are now an ever-increasing number of traffic-free cycle routes and paths around the country and lots of events that take place throughout the year to encourage you to get back on the bike.

Have a look at the National Bike Week site to see if there are any events local to you.

But, remember, a bike is for life not just a week.

One response »

  1. Ursula says:

    Paul, I can’t say I’ve forgotten cherished cycling. Not only because I used to have to (say to get to school) but also because I had spectacular falls as a child (try riding hands off on a rickety country lane or a freshly tarmaced road) with fantastic scabs to be picked for weeks on end. (Oh my poor knees – thanks for bringing them to my attention after years of not having given them a thought).

    I can’t say I am keen on cycling when Felix goes out with his bike. I give him the parental bore of how to use the green cycle path on his way to wherever and how to look out at any junction he needs to cross. Helmet? Forget it. So uncool. Yet I know the heart stopping panic that I, the car driver, feel when confronted with the physical fragility of a cyclist.

    My time is yours – off my bike.

    U

Leave a Reply

