I’m not entirely sure what has come over me.

Perhaps it is the weight of the world finally having an impact on my shoulders? Maybe its just that time of the year?

Whatever it is, I seem to have started 2011 as Mr Angry of Ye Olde City.

I should make it clear that Rachel doesn’t make me angry and I’m happy when I’m at home – well, as happy as you can be in a house in dire need of new windows, a landlord willing to put his hand in his pocket and which we have to share with a pillock of a cat that is deaf, suffers from an over-active thyroid and high blood pressure.

Flyman - a cat and a pillock.

I’m usually on a pretty even keel as regards just about everything.

An old editor told me I was so laidback I was horizontal… and what a Grade A tosser he was.

See what I mean? Whereas I’m usually able to rise nonchalantly above such people and things and ignore them and their impact on me, I now find myself biting.

I can’t help it. I’m angry about stuff and I don’t know how to stop it.

So in no particular order, I’m currently angry about:

  • Politics – I know I’m naive but in the run up to last year’s General Election and for a heady few days afterwards, I thought we might be witnessing a change. We weren’t. It’s still the same old petty nonsense, even though its our lives they’re playing with.
  • Politicians – From our local MP who has delusions of high office and has so far failed to respond to any enquiry with anything meaningful or resembling an opinion, to the more high-profile failings of the likes of Nick Clegg and Vince Cable, they’re all useless.
  • Cuts – I remember all too clearly the Thatcher era, I’m getting horrible flashbacks with each new government policy announcement. There is also a direct impact of misguided Con-Dem thinking: I’m out of a job come July 31; and Rachel is facing the prospect of losing her Disability Living Allowance. Thanks, Dave, we’re truly all in this together.
  • The media – A sweeping generalisation, but they continue to let politicians off the hook about all of the above and more. It makes me ashamed to be a journalist at times.
  • Life coaches and business gurus – Up your’s!
  • Bus stops – Why do people who stand at bus stops not realise they’re actually standing on a pavement too? Those of us simply walking along shouldn’t really have to walk in the road to get by, should we? The bus stop outside ye olde library is a particularly fine example of this problem.
  • Doorways – Why do people block doorways when having a chat, talking into their mobile phone, or simply just standing around looking gormless and then react like you’ve kicked their granny when you ask them to move?
  • Stuff – There’s too much stuff. Enough already.

There’s more. There’s always more.

But I don’t usually react so instantly and for such a prolonged period of time to it.

This week has, so far, been a little calmer than the rest of 2011.

I’m hoping I’m getting rebalanced and all of the above and more will once again float over me without registering (much) so that I can continue on my serene(ish) way.

Then again, I’m due to go to the Post Office tomorrow and I can already feel the tension rising…

So, there a queue! So what?

I’ve been stood here longer than you and you don’t hear me complaining, do you?

It’s a few short minutes out of your no doubt busy, eventful and cosmopolitan life.

I don’t need to hear how you used to run a business where “customer service, customer service, customer service” were the three most important things.

Get over it!

And shut up!

There, hopefully I’ve got that out of my system.

Onwards and upwards.

12 responses »

  1. Bryony says:

    Has that made you feel better? ;-D

  2. cinderkeys says:

    I’ll bite. Why “up yours” to business gurus and life coaches? I have my own reasons for being annoyed with them, but I’d like to hear yours.

    • Paul Groves says:

      The ones I seem to be encountering via Twitter and LinkedIn are amazingly self-satisfied and staggeringly simplistic. They have “You Should Just…” syndrome – they profess to have all the answers, yet haven’t got the first idea about the person they are attempting to preach too…and they invariably start every sentence with either “You should just….blah blah blah blah.” Plus, they’re brilliant at self-promotion and yet have absolutely nothing worthwhile to promote. The only motivation I get from them is an urge to kick them hard in the shins.

  3. ashysheela says:

    You are funny when angry, if that helps (I am sure NOT) – laughed out loud a few times reading this, whilst also nodding at the very valid things that are raising your bile… If I see a post-office related news headline tomorrow I will know who they are talking about!

    • Paul Groves says:

      Oh Ashy, at the risk of sounding like Joe Pesci in Goodfellas…funny how?

      “You mean, let me understand this cause, ya know maybe it’s me, I’m a little fucked up maybe, but I’m funny how, I mean funny like I’m a clown, I amuse you? I make you laugh, I’m here to fuckin’ amuse you? What do you mean funny, funny how? How am I funny?”

      So, yeah, funny how :-D
      (Thanks, by the way!)

  4. Bryony says:

    botheration then! But a lot of it seems like justified anger, so although it’s not much fun to live with, and you don’t have enough hours in the day to deal with sorting out some of the sources, there’s no shame in feeling it…

  5. [...] wrote earlier this week about how I seem to have become Mr Angry since the start of th year…well, Mr Obviously Angry, as I’m usually pretty good at [...]

  6. [...] wrote earlier this week about how I seem to have become Mr Angry since the start of the year…well, Mr Obviously Angry, as I’m normally pretty good at [...]

  7. Cusp says:

    Think Rachel should be honing a badge for likes of us ‘Glad to be Gloriously Grumpy !’…with ‘Now Sod Off!’ on the reverse :O)

Leave a Reply

