It could be the ultimate token of endless love.

Or it could be simply too ghoulish to even contemplate.

Forget gold, silver, titanium or platinum. If you really want to impress your bride or husband-to-be then you should offer them a wedding ring made out of your own bones.

The latest must-have for happy couples is, apparently, jewellery made from a sample of their own bone (http://www.biojewellery.com/).

Scientists take bone cells from wisdom teeth and grow them in a laboratory, then, hey presto, you have bone ready to be crafted into a wedding ring or any other item of jewellery you want to bestow on your one true love.

I’m not entirely sure what to make of this collaboration, which was sparked by scientists from King’s College London and artists from The Royal College of Art.

But I think I’ll stick with my first reaction, which was something like: “Yeeaauucchhh.”

There are clearly medical benefits to this process. The technique could eventually be used to grow large bits of bone for people with cancer or who need bone replacements.

So why does that seem acceptable, but the idea of wearing a piece of human bone as an item of jewellery appear so gross?

I possibly am being a little over-squeamish, but although I can see some artistic and creative value in “biojewellery” the project leaves me feeling deeply uneasy and just a little outraged.

This may have something to do with the fact that yet another gimmicky project is launched suggesting these items are the ultimate expression of love.

At the risk of sounding horribly old-fashioned, I thought I’d already done that when I said “I do”.

Comments are closed.