I’m beginning to think that fatherhood and modern life just aren’t compatible.

Having already decided to run the risk of using my laptop every day, I took the precaution of not putting my mobile phone in my pocket because of the close proximity of the handset to a particularly vital part of my body.

Two devices that, as much as I’m loathe to admit it, are fairly integral to my life at the moment could be having a negative impact on my body. But I simply cannot do without them – or rather, they are important to my career at the moment.

Whether they are so important to other aspects of my life is debatable, of course, but for the time being at least I’m rarely without my mobile phone and my laptop.

Yet I’m still uncertain and concerned about how using such devices affect my chances of producing an heir to my empire – not that I’m suggesting that the pursuit of fatherhood is imminent, just in case my family (or my wife) are reading.

I’m simply confused about whether I’m a suitable candidate for fatherhood, given the various reports and studies floating around.

For example, if running the risk of impairing my fertility by regular use of my mobile and laptop isn’t bad enough, now I read that one of the ways I enjoy winding down and switching off from work could also be hampering my ability to make babies.

According to the US study, taking a soak in the bath can reduce fertility.

What is a bloke supposed to think?

Modern life, or at least the way I’m going about it, does appear to be at odds with becoming a father.

To add to my confusion, I then discover that putting to one side the fact that I’ve kept my mobile in my pocket for years, even though I use my laptop daily and in spite of my fondness for long periods of contemplation in hot baths, I might actually be perfectly placed to become a good dad.

A report published by the Equal Opportunities Commission, suggests that babies are better off if their father manages to spend as much time as possible at home with them during their early years.

As I’m now self-employed and can work mostly from home, I’m apparently well-placed to give my child the best possible start in life.

So maybe my life is compatible to fatherhood after all?

Now all I have to decide – along with my wife, obviously – is whether we actually want children.

That particular question seems easy compared to sifting through all these studies and reports.

Leave a Reply

