It had to happen. There is an inevitability that the biggest name from this year’s series of The Apprentice – even if it was for all the wrong reasons – should get yet more media exposure than she deserves.

I must admit, however, that I thought it would be ITV or Channel 5 that would give Katie Hopkins the chance to lecture the nation.

Instead, it is the BBC that once again provides the platform.

I did think about ignoring this story completely, especially when I saw her eye-bulging (that’s her, not me) interview on BBC Breakfast this morning and was sufficiently moved to switch off before I kicked the cat off the bed in frustration.

She’s not worth it, I thought to myself, just move away and rise above it all.

But then I read the article on the BBC website and I couldn’t help myself.

I will concede – how gracious of me – that she makes some valid points.

But isn’t this a classic case of “do as I say, don’t do as I do”?

Coming from people with an ounce of authority or gravitas, that is difficult enough to stomach.

But coming from a failed reality TV contestant who admitted that stealing another woman’s husband only reached 8 out of 10 on her scale of ruthlessness, then preaching about family values has a hollow ring to it to say the least.

And I don’t think I have gleaned all my information about Ms Hopkins from the tabloids. I’m basing it entirely on what I saw and heard on The Apprentice.

What can we expect next from the BBC?

How about Keith Richards on the evils of drugs and the importance of sobriety?

Or, better still, Robert Mugabe and the preservation of human rights.

Leave a Reply

