I’ve never been one to make resolutions at New Year.

Resolutions smack of best intentions that rarely, if ever, get realised. If you want to try something, just do it.

I prefer reflecting on themes for both the coming year and the year that has just gone.

So, here goes for 2007 and 2008.

The last 12 months have been characterised by health and learning.

My wife’s health dominated 2007 and is set to be another central theme in the year ahead. I’m planning to write a piece on her illness in the next few days, so I won’t dwell too much on it here.

But we have both been on a steep learning curve over the last 12 months of how to cope with her illness and still enjoy life – both as individuals and a newly-married couple – and by and large it has been a very positive experience.

On a personal level, my decision to give the self-employed life “a bit of a go” led to a very productive 2007. I’ve enjoyed every minute, even the hugely frustrating ones, plus I feel like I have learned a hell of a lot about myself and want I want to do.

Which links nicely to 2008 when the themes for the next 12 months are likely to be health, wealth and writing.

Health matters will continue to dominate (more on this in the next few days).

Wealth doesn’t necessarily refer to financial matters (although it will at some points), but rather getting to enjoy this self-employed life and the freedom and opportunities it provides as well as the experiences and challenges that lie ahead for me, for Rachel and for us.

Writing is an easy one. As much I’ve enjoyed the last year, I haven’t done nearly enough writing for myself – 2008 is the year when I hopefully get all those ideas in my head on paper (or screen).

So 2007 was another pretty good year, all things considered.

Bring on 2008.

Leave a Reply

