It appears your life takes something of a lurch towards Sadsville between the ages of 40 and 50, according to a new global research study of happiness.

We are happiest during our formative years and in our dotage, apparently, as we negotiate a U-shaped curve of our general mood and state of mind.

I only have a few short months to go before I start to suffer the post-40 glums, but I admit to being confused.

In fact, I’m beginning to wonder whether my U-shaped curve has actually flipped on its head. Or, more likely, it has taken on a very different kind of shape altogether.

I enjoyed my childhood and I could easily come up with quite a few memories for a new survey being carried out by the Children’s Society. My late 20s and early 30s weren’t so great.

As far as I’m concerned I’m much happier now – personally, professionally and whichever other way you want to measure it – as I head towards 40 than I’ve ever been.

Apart from the day itself (I don’t like fuss) I’m quite looking forward to turning “middle-aged” – possibly because I’ve bought into the belief that 40 is the new 30…or 25…or maybe even 21.

Whatever, it appears I’m bucking the global happiness trend and as long as it carries on like that I’ll be…errrr…happy.

2 responses »

  1. Mikki says:

    this reminds me of a book I’ve just finished reading called “stumbling into happiness” which (amongst other things) says that if you survey people, they are happiest before they have kids or after the kids have left home. But if you survey people and ask them to REMEMBER when they were happiest or ANTICIPATE when they would be happiest, everyone went for the bit in the middle.

    Anyway that might not be relevant but the point was that happiness is more to do with what you recall or expect, than what you actually experience (maybe I should just lend you the book)….

  2. Paul Groves says:

    It also depends on context. So my memory tells me that one of the highlights of my life so far is riding around on my Grifter when I was 10 literally without a care in the world, but then it doesn’t really rank alongside July 31 2006. Or does it?

Leave a Reply

