I feel like patting myself on the back.

It has been quite a morning for the old work-life balance malarky.

I’m feeling vaguely smug about the whole thing and will remain so right up to the point something I think is ticking over nicely goes utterly pear-shaped – I’m a typically optimistically pessimistic Welshman.

Now I read that it is getting easier to work remotely and I’m worried.

Pick an inspiring piece of countryside or coastline and start working. The trouble is, I’m not sure I’ve got time find a nice woodland dingle to while away a few hours writing.

Having started the day at 6.30am with a half-hour bike ride, by 7.15am I’d got stuck into a feature I’ve just been commissioned to write.

After a bit of researching and writing, I switched to writing a quick blog about journalists and fair trials.

I took a call from a gardener wanting to give us a quote and 10 minutes later he arrived for a tour of the jungle we want hacked back. I then made my wife some breakfast, before heading out to do some shopping.

On returning, I put a load of washing on, made my wife another cup of tea, got the cat to take his antibiotic tablet (don’t ask) with some chicken-based trickery, then settled down to catch up with some emails and blog-related stuff.

It is now 11.45am.

I wouldn’t say this morning has been typical, but it isn’t too far off.

Now all I have to do is sort out is lunch, chase up some more garden quotes, a bit more feature-writing, contact a client about some work, cook dinner, then get myself ready to blog on The Apprentice.

When am I going to find time to watch Bargain Hunt or the snooker – because that’s what us home-based workers do all day – let alone go somewhere remote and random to do some blogging or other writing?

2 responses »

  1. I’m pleased to find someone so upbeat about their work-life balance – indeed I make a fair proportion of my income from helping people generate some balance in their lives.

    It seems to me that you really enjoy what you do – this is about 90% of the key to finding work-life balance.

    You feel like patting yourself on the back – I feel like congratulating you!

    Cheers, Dan

  2. Paul Groves says:

    Dan: You’re right, having fun is without doubt the key.
    If you don’t enjoy it, why do it?

Leave a Reply

