Global warming, the Bush administration and Piers Morgan’s rising media profile.

We’ve only got ourselves to blame for not tackling any of these things head on, especially as all three have the potential to destroy us.

So says Charlie Brooker, in a slight departure from his usual Monday morning musings.

Life, the universe, everything and our own place in the grand scheme of things – essentially sleepwalking towards oblivion – is quite a deep theme, but kind of fitting for a damp May Day Bank Holiday.

So am I a viewer or an active participant in my own life?

7 responses »

  1. Ursula says:

    Lame and poor piece by Charlie Brooker whoever he is when he is not counting sheep.

    I trust you, Paul, so I read the whole piece despite myself. He must have been tired.

    Are you participating in your life, Paul? By the looks of it you are pretty active. That we sometimes feel as if we are looking from the outside in is normal; as is to be stunned at the fact that we exist at all; when you say ‘I’ you truly are the one and only. It is awesome – and of course, a little frightening to reflect that once there wasn’t that ‘I’ and any time in the future there won’t be ‘I’ either. How boring that’ll be – and not just for oneself.

    In brackets: I like Piers Morgan – as I like people who stir everyday’s soup in an imaginative way.

    Damp up north? It’s brightened up here.

    U

  2. Paul Groves says:

    Ursula: I’m happy to disagree with you – about Mr Brooker and especially about Mr Morgan.
    Its brightening up here a lot too.

  3. Ursula says:

    Paul, nothing makes me happier than someone disagreeing with me. So much more entertaining.

    Piers Morgan – I barely know him. I certainly never read the papers he edited or watch any of the programmes he now does (does he?). But give me his face, his grin and always trusting my instinct, justifiably so, I can’t help thinking that he is the classroom joker, the mischief maker personnified. Like others, he has managed to perfect his controversial public persona to keep him in business. As to the real man and his substance? Probably different story.

    U

  4. Paul Groves says:

    Ursula: The kindest thing I can say about Mr Morgan is that he would fit in perfectly with the rest of the useless candidates on The Apprentice, but he wouldn’t have the wit or the imagination to win
    He is a combination of Kevin (who got fired last week) and Michael (who would have got fired last week if he’d lost the task) – double the dose of obnoxiousness in one smarmy package.
    Very limited talent coupled with unlimited arrogance is rather unattractive.

  5. Ursula says:

    Paul, I don’t know how to break this to you:

    Apparently Piers Morgan won the US version of Celebrity Apprentice by a mile.

    Why, the beep, am I even fighting this man’s corner?

    As you know (reference Tre) arrogance is extremely attractive to me (though not when coupled with limited talent).

    U

  6. Paul Groves says:

    Ursula: I’m acutely aware of Mr Morgan’s triumph. The idiots on the celebrity version of The Apprentice are even more clueless than the “ordinary” numpties…plus, they’re shallow celebs.
    I would ask you to explain Tre’s talent to me, but I’m scared of what the answer might be 😉

  7. Ursula says:

    Tre’s talent? I suppose supreme confidence.

    Just as you can’t take the cave out of a man, you can’t take the wish to be protected out of a woman. Says she who walks her female friends back to their respective homes, at midnight, only to head back on my own, unperturbed.

    U

Leave a Reply

