Once again I’m struggling with the beard dilemma, this time provoked by Flyman’s lavish whiskers.

I had resolved to banish it from my thoughts for the time being, but then this photograph of Flyman taken by Rachel in our garden, suddenly got me pondering whether I should consider growing a beard again.

There is something undeniably rakish about him in this shot. The flamboyant whiskers, combined with the poise, leave me thinking that if our scruffball of a cat can manage to look this good then so can I with some careful cultivation and trimming.

I knew when I added “growing a beard” to my 40 List that it was an issue that wouldn’t be easily resolved.

I’m still concerned that with a beard my face will look upside down.

Damn Flyman and his roguish whiskers!

8 responses »

  1. They say owners look like their dogs … maybe it’s true with cats too then?

  2. Mikki says:

    Sorry to say Paul but you would have to grow a luxuriant handlebar moustache to have the human equivalent of cat whiskers.

    Possibly this would not have the rakish effect you were aiming for.

  3. Ursula says:

    Paul, dear man, I wish I had your problems. Women are fighting a continual battle against fuzz, whilst men are allowed to follicle freely.

    Flyman’s whiskers are gorgeous. He is the Salvador Dali of the cat world.

    By way of anecdote: In my late teens I fell for a guy with hair half way down his back – and a lovely red beard to match; he had an endearing way of twisting strands of it round his finger when he was thinking. A few years down the line our relationship crumbled (on my side); and – I think it was as an act of revenge – one day he came home, not only hair cut short, but clean shaven. I was in shock – I’d never seen him like that. It was the final nail in the coffin – I couldn’t bear him touching me after that.

    Also, my father has now taken leave of his senses; after decades of clean shaving he has grown a Captain’s beard, worthy of someone advertising fish fingers. I told him: I hate it – not that it has made any difference. Two sides of a very strange coin in my life.

    Paul, in the end I’d leave it to Rachel’s judgment. She is the one who has to look at you across the breakfast table, she is the one who kisses you. And, as cruel as it might sound, there will never be any contest between you and Flyman.

    U

  4. Paul Groves says:

    Rachel/Mikki/Ursula: I think I’m being blinded by the favourable impact Flyman’s picture and whiskers seems to have on the ladies. Sad to say, I’m not sure I could compete.

  5. Mikki says:

    Ah but Flyman’s appeal decreases massively when he leaves dead mice in your kitchen, and yours increases proportionately when you deal with them. I feel you will always have the upper hand on this one.

  6. le craic says:

    What you could do is have a mock up done of what you would look like with a beard. Then you can seek opinions as to whether it suits you or not.

  7. Paul Groves says:

    AJ: I did grow a bit of a beard at the end of last year and my sister said I was starting to look like David Baddiel – so I stopped. It is such a folicle minefield.

  8. le craic says:

    I had a goatee up to about 4 or 5 months ago but got fed up of it. Most guys think about growing a beard at some point – very few actually carry it through as it is hard to get used to a new look.

Leave a Reply

