A round-up to end an interesting first week back after a welcome break:

Even though we’re not supposed to use the term chav, apparently, The Guardian uses it prominently in a look at what it feels is the snobbish reaction to the health scare of reality TV star Jade Goody.

I’m not entirely sure it has become trendy to “trash the poor” and I wish Ms Goody a speedy recovery. But I also wish reality TV would go away quickly.

There are calls for a public inquiry after MI5 was criticised for unlawful interrogation.

Why stop with MI5′s activities?

Nicola Davies, a fellow WMBN member, covers an issue very close to my own heart and my wife’s ears – snoring.

I’m not sure whether BreatheRight works, the video certainly does. Ear plugs tend to do the job in our house.

Another WMBN member and another video. This time the Smart Brand Blog takes a look at attempts to address the long-standing image problems of Reno, often regarded as the second rate sister of Las Vegas.

Reinventing itself as The Biggest Little City in the World, the great and good of Reno have stood up to be counted and talk about the regeneration of the city and plans for the future.

Some lessons for our own so-called second city, Birmingham, as it looks to kick-start the impressive progress of the last 20 years or so perhaps? 

Maybe, maybe not, but it is good to see the words backed by decisive action.

5 responses »

  1. I’d just like to correct a factual point here even with 35db earplugs + two pillows + hands over ears I can still hear you snoring.

    Yet when I make a tiny click to open my little ear plug case you wake up with a disgruntled snort.

    I think you’d need to use those breathe right strips to fasten your mouth shut.

  2. Paul Groves says:

    Sorry, dear.
    But I meant the ear plugs work for me so your tutting, huffing and puffing doesn’t disturb me ;-)

  3. Ursula says:

    So refreshing to hear a married couple communicating.

    U

  4. Paul Groves says:

    U: We were wondering if this constituted our first online “domestic”.
    Apparently I slept quietly last night – guilty conscience?

  5. Ursula says:

    Paul, thank your lucky stars for just snoring – on tap as it were (Rachel, I love the 35db detail – so German in its precision). To comfort you both, I used to munch apples (core, pips and all) last thing at night which for some reason caused massive irritation on the other side of the bed. An apple a day does not so much keep the doctor away as marital huff alive. Eventually I did it on purpose.

    As to your question, Paul, this probably was your FIRST online domestic. Let’s hope it won’t be your last.

    Sleep well, both of you, when the time comes,

    U

Leave a Reply

