So the decision has been made and the registration form submitted.

On July 11 and 12 I shall be mostly sat on my bike, riding from one side of Britain to the other on the C2C Challenge.

seatosea-cropped

It may have been a while since I originally suggested the idea on here about embarking on the two-day, 140-mile ride from Whitehaven to Sunderland.

But I haven’t been sat around twiddling my thumbs. I’ve been training, I’ve been researching and most of all I’ve been finding out whether I’m capable of succeeding in the challenge.

I still have a few worries – which I’m telling myself is a healthy bout of nerves – but most of all I’m excited.

I’m already slowly building up the mileage on my training routes…and tackling routes with hills that I’ve previously decided I would take on “another day”. I’ve even ignored the blustery winds and driving rain and headed out onto the open roads, whereas previously I would have adopted the big old wuss attitude to such weather and stayed indoors.

There are still plans to be hatched, especially in terms of the reason why I’m taking on the C2C Challenge.

It will be a charity challenge, but I’m hoping to raise more than just money.

I’ll be riding for organisations linked to ME/CFS research and carers – two very personal issues.

For now, I’m looking forward to the long Easter holiday weekend when I can hit the roads of Staffordshire for four early mornings and test my legs and my resolve.

Chocolate is a good way to refuel after lots of physical exercise, isn’t it?

5 responses »

  1. Phil says:

    Brilliant! Glad to hear you’re going for it!

  2. ashysheela says:

    wowee! Well done for committing to this 🙂 Pity i don’t live half way along for a pit stop… if we can be of any use as locals let us know! Will sponsor you, tell me how!

  3. Paul Groves says:

    Phil: Once you get your new bike, I’ll invite you out on one of my training runs 🙂

    Ashy: Thanks. I’ll be blogging details about the “sponsorship” I’m after in a few days.
    And we’ll no doubt keep you informed of our plans when we’re up in the North East in July 🙂

  4. le craic says:

    That’s going to be a great event. If you’ve got an online sponsorship thing set up let me know so I can sponsor you

  5. Paul Groves says:

    AJ; You’re a gent. I’ll be providing details of the sponsorship after the Easter weekend, so I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

