There are two important events happening in June.

Actually, I’m sure there are lots of important events happening in June, but two of the most significant for me are being launched next month.

The first is National Carers Week – June 8-14

The second is National Bike Week – June 13-21.

They overlap, which is great for me and my attempt to persuade people to donate ten minutes of their time, rather than £10 when I take on the C2C Challenge.

I have a foot in both camps this year. I’ll be attempting to survive a two-day, 140-mile ride from one side of the UK to another as part of my attempt to raise awareness of their hidden role of hundreds of thousands of carers in the UK.

The central part of the challenge is raising awareness about ME/CFS, the illness that Rachel was diagnosed with shortly after we got married three years ago.

I would urge all who have offered their support so far to donate a bit of time to both Bike Week, but especially Carers Week.

Did you know, for example, that around 1.25 million people are providing over 50 hours of unpaid care per week for a family member or friend?

I’ll provide more links and suggestions closer to June 8.

In the meantime, my training continues to go very well.

Despite too many early starts, a very busy working week and some dispiriting weather, last weekend I was pleasantly surprised at how fresh my legs felt as I ventured out on Saturday and Sunday for my training rides.

foot resized

(pic by RachelCreative)

With this weekend being a bank holiday, I’ve also booked Friday and Tuesday off work to make it an extra long weekend and provide a few more training ride opportunities.

I’m planning on returning to Derbyshire on Friday morning for another ride along the Tissington Trail, maybe extended along the High Peak Trail for a few miles too.

Saturday, Sunday and Monday will all provide some great early morning, relatively traffic-free rides and I can add a fourth morning on Tuesday.

It remains fun, which is the most important thing.

Thanks again for your time!

3 responses »

  1. Bryony says:

    Keep it up! We’re planning a long tandem ride this weekend as the ‘fun’ part of Iain’s training for LeJOG in 6 days next month! And let me know what I can do online timewise during Carer’s Week. I’m already helping out with a Bike Week event here in Putney on 14th!

    Cheers

    Bryony

  2. Paul Groves says:

    Hi Bryony: Thanks for your support here and on Twitter. Good luck with the tandem ride :-)

  3. [...] of my Growler training for 140 mile (225 km) cycle ride in July.  Wants to raise awareness of ME/CFS and carers.  Asking people for 10 minutes rather than £10. To read an article or two, write a letter, sign a [...]

Leave a Reply

