The plan was that by now the rack would have been put on the back of the car, the bike fixed upon it, and I would be packing my various bags for the drive north and the C2C Challenge.

me relaxingInstead, I’m lounging with my wife wondering about the “what ifs” and “maybes”.

Don’t get me wrong, the decision to pull out of the 140-mile, two-day challenge was the right one and I have absolutely no regrets.

But it is human nature to dwell on what won’t now happen, at least once.

There is little point on going over what I could have, should have and would have done differently. Instead I’ll learn from the experience and be better equipped to take on the next challenge, whatever that might be.

One of the biggest lessons is that the idea behind my original bike challenge – asking people to donate minutes rather than money – seemed to capture imaginations.

I’m not anti-fundraising. But sometimes raising awareness can be far more valuable, particularly for issues and causes which are either misunderstood or simply not sufficiently on the radar to warrant any attention.

So I will take the idea of Minutes Not Money forward.

I’m still hoping to do something in return for the donations and pledges of support I’ve received – after all, its only fair that I do something in return.

Who knows, if the C2C Challenge is staged again in 12 months time I might finally get a chance to dip my wheel in the Irish Sea at Whitehaven and the North Sea in Sunderland.

woo-hoo resized

In the meantime, I’m keeping an eye on weather forecast for those who do manage to make it to the start-line and wishing everyone who takes it on the best of luck in completing the 140-mile challenge.

I won’t exactly be putting my feet up this weekend.

But I’m sure I’ll have far less aches and pains come Monday morning than I originally anticipated.

Leave a Reply

