So Plan B for the Minutes Not Money challenge is about to swing into action.

Actually, it is more like Plan D…or even F…but no matter. Like every good tortoise, I’ll get there eventually.

Unfortunately Plan A proved too much to handle.

But I was determined to complete some sort of challenge in 2009 and more importantly not let the fantastic offers of support and pledges of time I had received go to waste.

Plan F actually fits perfectly with everything.

It is a one-day event, it is 100km in length so there’s still a challenge to be taken on, there’s already an established link with a charity involved with one of the issues I’m hoping to raise awareness about and both the event itself and the training should still be fun.

So, once again, I’m asking a familiar question – could you spare 10 minutes of your time rather than £10 of your money?

mebike

The idea remains the same.

I’m hoping to raise awareness of the two issues that have become fairly central to my life over the last three years – ME/CFS, which my wife Rachel was diagnosed with about four years ago; the largely ignored role of the millions of carers in the UK.

I would like people to pledge their time, rather than their money.

Although organisations linked to both these issues could do with the money, I also believe they would benefit enormously from raising awareness.

Having more people willing to learn, understand, spread the word and hopefully offer some support will be invaluable in the long-term.

I’ll post up more details in due course.

But having enjoyed a fortnight’s break from my bike, training has now resumed and I’m once again pounding the lanes of Staffordshire.

The inaugural C2C Challenge has now taken place and by all accounts was a resounding success.

I’m a little envious of those who managed to make the starting line. I’m also delighted that it was so well-received that the challenge will take place again in 2010, so there’s still a good chance I’ll get to complete the ride.

This new event in October is more manageable than the C2C Challenge and hopefully might be the springboard to bigger and tougher rides further down the line – although only if they can be fitted in around my main priority, Rachel.

4 responses »

  1. Bryony says:

    sounds like a fun day of cycling! I shall carry on doing what I’m doing, awareness-raising-wise, if that’s ok with you. Glad you have found an event that fits!

  2. Ursula says:

    Ever the optimist I logged onto your website to see whether there was a fresh offering.. Does make absence the heart grow fonder? I never bought into that one. Presence is where it’s at. No more big gaps, please.

    Good luck, and thank you so very much for bringing that old children’s song back to mind. Where is the off button?

    U

  3. Mikki says:

    You look a treat in hi-viz waterproofs though.

    Dray now also has a bike ( a Land Rover no less). Don’t hesitate to rope him into whatever it is you’re up to…

  4. Paul Groves says:

    Mikki: A kind offer. I’ve got a few 50-mile training rides coming up in the next couple of weeks. Dray and his Land Rover are more than welcome to join me 🙂

Leave a Reply

