Its been a while.

Life has ticked along as normal since my last post – working, relaxing, caring, laughing, worrying, stressing, joking, cycling, working.

The same old same old – or, in other words, life is good.

I’ve been thinking for weeks about what I should write today for Carers Rights Day and I keep coming back to the same conclusion – I’ve pretty much said all I wanted to say, for now at least.

But then I received an email from Rosemary that got me thinking some more.

She told me to read a post she had written on her blog as it applied to me.

The post is about cyber friendships and how important they can be. And she’s absolutely right.

So, borrowing heavily from Rosemary, I thought I would write about how important the online friends I’ve built up via this blog and particularly the likes of Twitter and Facebook. The same is obviously true of long-standing friendships and family.

But this online crowd have become important too.

They put a smile on my face, they make me think, they tell me I’m great, or an idiot. Above all, they have an uncanny and very welcome habit of saying exactly the right thing at the right time.

So in writing for Carers Rights Day about how important these cyber and real friendships have been, especially over the last four years, I find I really only have two words to say.

Thank you.

4 responses »

  1. […] This post was Twitted by carersdirect […]

  2. Rosemary says:

    Morning Paul,

    Funny how much support we can get from friendships made online from people we will most never likely get to meet.Yet the connections made are so strong.

    Hope you are both well

    Rosemary

  3. Ursula says:

    Yes, Paul, it’s been a while indeed. And I missed you.

    As to friends conjured up out of cyber space: It’s a mixed bag. Since I only use words, not smilies or the dreaded ‘lol’ as a shortcut, I have found that some people will take offence where none intended.

    My one and only lament over the joys and sorrows of communicating via the internet: If people only read properly – and gave the benefit of the doubt.

    Keep smiling, Paul.
    Affectionately,
    Ursula

  4. Rosemary says:

    Just dropping by to wish you both a Happy New Year

    x x

Leave a Reply

