The great career – carer juggling act has been faltering in the last week or so.

First Rachel developed a real stinker of a cold. It proved a proper, full-on nasty jobbie.

This coincided with a couple of manic days at my day job and I found myself seriously torn between staying home and taking extra care of Rachel and heading off to fulfil my obligations at work.

I juggled furiously and thankfully I had already booked a day off, so I was able to get some pressing work stuff sorted and then spend a long weekend looking after my wife – unfortunately, we were supposed to be going away for the weekend but Rachel infectious state meant we decided it was best to stay home.

Almost inevitably after spending several days at home, I picked up the cold myself. As the cold hit hard I managed to make an important meeting at the day job, but I knew there was no way I would be able to keep all the balls in the air.

One of the balls had to be dropped and it was the job that fell by the way side for a couple of days.

It should have been an easy decision. After all, I have colleagues who can up the ball in my absence whereas at home there isn’t always someone able to pick things up at a moment’s notice.

We’re lucky to have family close by and friends willing to help, but they all have their own lives and priorities too.

It got me thinking about my priorities and where they should lie.

I always maintain that Rachel is my priority, but now I’m not so sure.

Maybe I need to be more selfish? Perhaps I  should the priority?

If I want to make sure Rachel is properly looked after, I need to make sure I’m in the best possible position to care for her.

I can’t do that if I’m juggling so furiously that I exhaust myself.  Equally, I can’t do it if I try keeping all the balls in the air when it makes much more sense to let one of them drop.

So the next dilemma is deciding which ball should be allowed to fall – and will it always be the day job that is the first to go to ground?

I always maintain I’m very lucky that I can juggle a career with caring. I still believe that is true, but in the last week I’m not sure I’ve felt that lucky.

I know I don’t need to keep all the balls in the air at once, but I just need to remind myself of that fact every now and then.

…Oh, and who am I kidding?

Rachel will always be my main priority.

Leave a Reply

