It is gearing up to be quite an interesting few weeks.

There is a fair bit happening at work and all of it is pointing in one direction at the moment – a big change.

So I’ve got my thinking trousers on, looking at options for my next career move or whether I should start looking for something a little different.

After more than 20 years working in the media and PR, I am beginning to wonder is it time for a really big change?

 

Me, thinking - photo by RachelCreative

 

As the government abolishes almost 200 quangos and next week’s Comprehensive Spending Review promises to throw up a fair number of shocks in terms of government priorities and budgets, peering into the short-term future is proving tricky enough.

So there is an argument for suggesting it would be better to do some more detailed crystal ball gazing and look further towards the medium and long-term. It might even be time to dig out The 40 List again and see whether that throws up an inspiration.

One thing is clear, a lot has happened in the last 12 months but it will be nothing compared to the massive changes I’m expecting to start impacting on us all in the next 12 months.

I’m planning to sit down with Rachel over the next week or so and come up with a shopping list of stuff I might consider doing instead of what I have been doing since I was 21.

It feels kind of scary. But it also feels quite exciting.

Words will always be my life. But there’s other stuff I enjoy too.

The only thing that is certain is that something in finance or accounting is completely out of the question.

After 42 years, I still don’t do numbers.

9 responses »

  1. CommonPeople says:

    I know exactly what you mean – I’m going through all the same agonising. Is it our age?!
    I’ve just started a Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Sector course. It seemed like a great idea, but am concerned now that the budget for this sector will be decimated.
    Fancy opening a cake shop?
    J

    • Paul Groves says:

      It might be an age thing, but more likely the big shift in society I’m expecting will happen. MsCreative is proving quite adept at baking, so a cake and biscuit shop might be the way forward.
      (Good idea to use your new blog to post this comment Jayne, nice plug!)

      • CommonPeople says:

        I didn’t mean to – honest! I can;t get to grips with changing identity on WordPress: from what I can gather I can only be one person: can’t work out how to be me on my blog and CommonPeople on the other ….

  2. Philip John says:

    I’m obviously biased but maybe you could help TLB get to journalist-employing stage πŸ˜‰

    Whatever you choose to do, I *promise* to be a customer of the cake shop if that happens!

  3. ashysheela says:

    Good luck with coming up with ideas and with potentially making one a reality – it’s exciting and courageous! I wish you success and satisfaction if you make a leap in a new direction. Even if you decide not to change tack in a major way, it is good to reassess your options and priorities every now and again. You are making me think of Mitchell and Webb: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vD0gVRI_kEQ

Leave a Reply

